Painting Homework Due 01/25/17

homework

Man… homework-on-the-first-day teachers are the WORST.

*cough*

Sorry, my Party Painting Peops… I’m afraid it’s kind of unavoidable in a once per week class. Anyway, the week’s homework is actually a bundle o’ mini-assignments, none of which should take too long. Don’t forget: no late work is accepted in my classes.


  1. Buy your supplies. Do it. Do it now (you need them next week).


  2. If you haven’t already, join Del’s Digital Classroom via the invite sent to your SCC e-mail account. Step-by-step instructions on joining are located here.


  3. Read the course syllabus and fill out and sign the syllabus questionnaire. It is due at the beginning of class next week.


  4. Introduce yourself by making a new post  in the painting category on this blog. Share a couple of things that make you the most you-y you there is. Since this is art class, hopefully that will include something about why you make/like art. End your post by sharing an image of a favorite painting. What, you don’t remember how to do any of that?!? Clicky click here for instructions.


  5. Read the comic on creativity journaling to ensure you understand the journal assignment. Then, get started! Your composition notebook should be flush with at least 15 pages when next we meet. A darn good start is to do the “Did, Saw, Heard, Drew” entry once daily. Of course, you are not required to do that specific thing (your journal=your creativity). Just make sure you are working regularly.


  6. Finally, read this excerpt from the introduction to art historian James Elkins’ “What Painting Is”. Respond to Elkins’ analysis in a comment on this blog post. It doesn’t have to be long—a paragraph or two is fine— but remember that I’m not looking for you to summarize the author’s viewpoint. Instead, I expect you to share a thoughtful opinion of your own. I also encourage (but don’t require) you to reply to classmates when they bring up a point that interests you.

See you next week for more awesome painting goodness!

8 thoughts on “Painting Homework Due 01/25/17

    • I always jump into a new medium of art without knowing the full meaning of the tools. I never knew that paint was made out of stones and a liquid. Then that the stones were the pigments themselves. I like how it mentions that an artist who is not obsessed seriously is incomplete. I wish I could do art work everyday. Then continue for years and years that way. But because of the natural every day lives, its little hard to complete. I feel that I should look up the meaning of my tools are as I begin to use them. That way I have a more appreciation for them, and all of their beautiful natural qualities. Like as typed in this article.

      Like

  1. The excerpt really made me think about painting and how its not just putting the paint on the canvas for fun. The next time I paint, I’m gonna really think about like what I’m doing. Reading that actually made me want to paint my feelings and put my whole heart into and see what comes out of it. It’s pretty interesting to me that these painters think like this and it sounds like that live and breath all kinds of paint. Also, I didn’t really know how paint was made and its pretty cool to look at paint and knowing its made from materials from the earth. I found this to be pretty interesting to read.

    -Chelsea

    Like

  2. This reading was very interesting to be able to hear someone else’s point of view of painting and art. The reading really showed me the work some artists did to make and get there materials and how it came from the earth and the world around them. I would have to agree with the point of view of the James Elkins especially when he says “paint records the most delicate gesture and the most tense.” on introduction 5. I have only painted once or twice and from those two times I realized I really actually like it. After reading this I am more appreciative of painting and the works it takes. I will be putting a lot more effort into my painting and practice more after reading this. It showed me paint isn’t just putting paint on a canvas it is a lot more then that it shows meaning and conveys a message and each artist has there own way of showing there emotions and that is what I love about painting and art. this excerpt showed me things I did not know about painting and paint and how different people see it.

    Like

  3. Its was interesting reading about the materials they used to make the paint. It made me think back to the beginning of art history one when we were talking about cave paintings and how the traveled for their materials. It really shows you how much more work it took for people long ago ( and people who choose to do it that same way today) to go about painting like we do with our purchased bottled paint. It was also interesting to see the view of thinking in painting rather then thinking about painting. It puts a deeper meaning into what it is to paint and shows there is more to the history of art then you hear about in art history because they miss the important questions.

    Like

  4. I thought this reading was educating and interesting. It made me see painting in another aspect, from the way paints are made and how different people look at painting. I never really knew about Alchemy until reading this. It took my attention to find out more about it so I decided to look it up. Alchemy seems to be scientific and spiritual and there’s so much that dates back to the beginning with it. Learning that paints are made from stone and some form of a natural liquid, dating from the beginning of art history till now, is pretty interesting. This reading also made me realize how some painters paint with emotion by looking at how the texture and color of their paint that is applied. Overall this makes me definitely look at art in a more thoughtful way.

    Like

  5. I really like the author’s idea that painting is best learned through practice rather than sticking your face in a book. I think most skills work that way. You can only study so much. Books, the internet, word of mouth, et cetera– these can only get you so far. The real skill, I believe, comes from putting the time in, and that takes determination and a desire for improvement.

    Like

  6. I like the title Stones and Water that James Elkins refers to in his excerpt. This brings the reader right into his words. It is very interesting writings about how the used to make paint. As he explains that is better to do on hands than reading about or studying. The funny part about that quote is that he explained this at the end. Comparing alchemist and making painting is spot on, and very unique. He makes me feel different about how I paint, and should take my painting to the next level with more practice. So much feeling and emotions go into painting, and some people do not realize that. Great excerpt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

