Hello, I’m Anna Kuczynski Scaramazza

dali-drawers

I enrolled in Figure Drawing this semester to learn how to draw the human figure the right way.  Learning figure drawing, the right way, may get me started to the level Salvador Dali was in his ability to play.  Dali isn’t just playing with the human figure in his work Anthropomorphic Cabinet.  He is using Freud’s comparison of the human body to a chest of drawers.  Del knows my work, super tight realism, which I’ve taught myself.  Surprise, surprise!  Dali is in my folder of favorite artists.  Although I have no intentions of dropping the realism mode altogether, my challenge is to loosen up and enjoy working.  This will only come with being able to create using tools that come from practicing the right way.  Learning to practice the right way is to learn from a person that knows how to teach the right way, because they learned the right way.  I think that person has to also have a natural tendency towards the work, enjoys the work and enjoys teaching the work.

Leave a Reply

