Non-Objective Objectives

Painting Homework Due 03/29/17

Here’s the skinny on what needs doin’ for next class!


number-one-

reading_pinky.gifIf you haven’t already, read the following article: ArtNews: The Golden Age of Abstraction

In a comment on this post, tell me which of the categories of contemporary abstraction discussed most interests you and why. Prior to making a decision, I recommend you follow a few of the links within the article and/or search some of the artist names to get a better idea what each category entails.

Please be thoughtful in your response. A paragraph or two should do the trick.


Two

big_canvas.jpgGet yee going on yon big canvas for Project 2! Use what you have learned from your test paintings as well as from the various technique exercises we’ve completed (alla prima, blending, scumbling, drybrush, fluid/watercolor/wash, impasto, knife painting, etc.) Your piece should be far enough along by next class that we can have a meaningful discussion about what’s working and what needs improvement. Remember, for this assignment, composition is key and layering is your very good friend!

Don’t forget to read those nutty Project 2 Guidelines!


Other Potentially Helpful Stuff:

im_helping.jpg

For a reminder on compositional strategies, checkycheck the handout.

For information on the formal principles of art/design, which are likewise key to composition, looksee here at these notes.

For more non-objective inspiration, review your fellow students’ mini-reports on their assigned non-objective painters.


See you next week!

 

9 thoughts on “Non-Objective Objectives

  1. I like how Wade Guyton eliminated the artist’s hand by using digital printers instead of stencils. I thought it was cool how the X’s colors kinda fell into each other. The balance looked equal even though it isn’t. So I looked more around the artwork. I like it digital because many of the research projects I do aren’t digital. I like all forms of art. This piece has a neat choice of color and movement.

    Like

  2. http://www.miandn.com/exhibitions/chris-martin#2

    I love the Cosmologies work done by various artists, but one in general is Chris Martin. Glitter Painting is my favorite on his website. In most of the works I researched, I have notice a lot of cosmos, constellations, and other alienated feel in their work. I am doing a piece with all blue-green scale, so I am researching artist in this type of abstract. Also, this type of abstract has rhythm, movement, balance, relationship and balance throughout the piece.

    Doug

    Like

  3. I really liked the fabrics style. It originally caught my eye as I was skimming the pictures on the page because of the pattern. As I read the article and clicked through the artist I found that I really liked Joyce Kozloff. Her paintings were crazy detailed and had a lot going on but that’s what made them interesting. I picked fabrics because I feel it’s kinda like my style and that’s what brought me to it. Fabrics contains the deatail and the patterns I like to include in my own work.

    Like

  4. The landscape category took my interest. By looking at a landscape picture, it makes me feel like you take a travel to another place. Looking at a landscape painting in abstract reminds me of a travel in a dream. I looked up David Green and he gave me ideas on how to go about painting my abstract. I liked how his paintings had a flow of rythm and also his choice of colors.

    Like

  5. I really like the anatomy category. I like how they do not always physically show the body parts but they hint at it or use color or other techniques to suggest at that there is some form of the body there. I think I like it because it is a mysterious form of art they don’t come out and say here it is they hide it and make you look for it which to me could be very mysterious. especially since it represents the body. I liked the artist Carrie Moyer her paintings are amazing with the use of color and acrylic and she uses glitter on her paintings. But in her work you can definitely find her inspiration or parts of the body in the paintings.

    Like

  6. I really like cosmologies. There’s a primal feeling I get from seeing constellations and stars. Maybe it was the first art we known as humans looking at the stars, seeing how they form recognizable patterns and labeling it. I get that same ancient feeling from the signs category. Symbolism appeals to me, especially basic patterns that have been used by many different cultures through time. It connects all of humanity by simple forms of expression.

    Like

  7. Signs abstraction appeals to me the most, particularly because looking through these works gives me great ideas for graphic design work. Before learning of signs abstraction, I already found myself drawn to using words on my canvas for the current painting project. After much experimentation with the paint, I ended up painting words onto the canvas. I intentionally worked wet to be able to “cut” into the paint and give it a great texture/depth. This was absolutely cathartic in a way as I took my frustration (due to things unrelated to the project) out on the canvas. It turned out to have a really cool effect on my abstract. Even though the words on my canvas are illegible, they became a central part of my painting. Finally, I particularly liked Glenn Ligon’s work, although I did not research any abstract artists before my painting as I wanted to at least get started without much outside influence.

    Like

  8. In order for me to appreciate abstract art, in general, the colors used are critical. For example, even though I find cosmologies to be my favorite, the one used in the article, Chris Martin’s Seven Pointed Star does not impress me in the least bit. It’s colors are garish (my opinion!) Olafur Eliasson, on the other hand, is totally on target. His work is not complicated in form yet it keeps me looking. It set a peaceful, engaging mood. Anish Kapoor’s Cloud Gate, in the landscape category is totally awesome. We see one picture of it, but it is capable of changing seasonally, even daily because it reflects the skies. Genius!

    I don’t understand what was meant by abstract art being “how we think of the future”. Maybe I just don’t agree. I think serious abstract comes from the core of artist creating it. Which puts it in the present.

    Like

  9. I’m really into the Fabric style. I love abstract patterns and like an obsession with zentangle, so I’m definitely aiming for that kind of feel. There’s a lot of movement within the lines and shapes from the patterns that make your eyes wonder all over. Not having a focal point is kind of the aim you’re going for when something is abstract. Not trying to figure out what the object looks like, but it represents. The emotions behind it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

